Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

My Last Thesis Journal

Le Mage Journal

2001-03-10 - 02:34:55

quotes from the last unicorn


"I did not know that I was so empty, to be so full."

Schmendrick the Magician


She said, "I will go no farther."

"There is no choice. We can only go on."

The magician said again. "We can only go on."


"You are losing my interest and that is very dangerous. In a moment I will have forgotten you quite entirely, and will never be able to remember just what I did with you. What I forget not only ceases to exist, but never really existed in the first place."

King Haggard


"But I must go on, for it is never finished. Even when I wake, I cannot tell what is real, and what I am dreaming as I move and speak and eat my dinner. I remember what cannot have happened, and forget something that is happening to me now."

Lady Amalthea


"When I was alive, I believed--as you do--that time was at least as real and solid as myself, and probably more so. I said 'one o'clock' as though I could see it, and 'Monday' as though I could find it on the map; and I let myself be hurried along from minute to minute, day to day, year to year, as though I were actually moving from one place to another. Like everyone else, I lived in a house bricked up with seconds and minutes, weekends and New Year's Days, and I never went outside until I died, because there was no other door. Now I know that I could have walked through the walls."

The Skull


"...you are truly human now. You can love, and fear, and forbid things to be what they are, and overact."

Schmendrick the Magician


"I think I understand, but I'm sure I don't"

Schmendrick the Magician


"Everything dies. It is good that everything dies. I want to die when you die. Do not let him enchant me, do not let him make me immortal."

Lady Amalthea


"Wizards make no difference, so they say that nothing does."

Prince Lir


"Great heroes need great sorrows and burdens, or half their greatness goes unnoticed."

Schmendrick the Magician


Butterfly: Your name is a golden bell hung in my heart. I would break my body to pieces to call you once by your name.


Schmendrick: I know you. If I were blind I'd know what you are.


Schmendrick: The magic chose the shape, not I. I am a bearer, I am a dwelling, I am a messenger...

Molly: You are an idiot!


Haggard: You may come and go as you please. My secrets guard themselves. Will yours do the same?


The Cat: No cat out of its first fur was ever deceived by appearances, unlike human beings, who seem to enjoy it.


The Cat: No cat anywhere ever gave anyone a straight answer.


Molly: Where have you been? Where have you been? Damn you! WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN!

Unicorn: I'm here now...

Molly: And where were you 20 years ago? Ten years ago?! Where were you when I was new, when I was one of those innocent maidens you always >come to? How dare you! How dare you come to me now, when I am THIS!


i'm afraid i will say that someday


i alwyas forget how insanely good this movie is and how much better the book is *sigh*


Schmendrick: I'll turn your heart to grass and all you love into a sheep! I'll turn you into a bad poet with dreams! I'll set all your toenails growing inward! You mess with me.


"There has never been a spell on me before. There has never been a world in which I was not known."

"Oh, I know exactly how you feel. It's a very rare person who is taken for what he trully is."

-Unicorn and Schmendrick


They passed down all the roads long ago, and the Red Bull ran close behind them and covered their footprints.


"His firstling Bull has majesty. And his horns are the horns of a wild ox. With them he shall push the unicorns, all of them, to the ends of the earth. Listen. Listen quickly!" ~Butterfly~


And in the whiteness, of the whiteness, flowering in the tattered water, their bodies aching with the streaked marble hollows of the waves, their manes and tails and the fragile beards of the males burning in the sunlight, their eyes as dark and jeweled as the deep sea -- and the shining of the horns, the seashell shining of the horns! The horns came riding in like the rainbow masts of silver ships.


"I will keep the color of your eyes when no other in the world remembers your name." --The Tree


"It would be the last unicorn on earh that came to Molly Grew" --Molly Grue


LYICS TO THE SONGS:

THE LAST UNICORN

When the last eagle flies

Over the last crumbling mountain

And the last lion roars

At the last dusty fountain

In the shadow of the forest

Though she may be old and worn

They will stare unbelieving

At the Last Unicorn

When the first breath of winter

Throught the flowers is icing

And you look to the north

And a pale moon is rising

And it seems like all is dying

And would leave the world to mourn

In the distance hear her laughter

It's the Last Unicorn

I'm alive... I'm alive

When the last moon is cast

Over the last star of morning

And the future is past

Without even a last desparate warning

Then look into the sky where through

The cloudes a path is formed

Look and see her how she sparkles

It's the Last Unicorn

I'm alive... I'm alive.


the end for now.

* a small smile and a kiss*

the world could use more kisses methinks...

-bsg-

prior mistakes future mistakes


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The past 12 months
18 months past
24 months past
36 months past
48 months past