Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

My Last Thesis Journal

Le Mage Journal

2002-02-24 - 2:25 p.m.

*Re: raising kids. Praise them, never scream at them, punish as necessary and right now -- never a moment's delay -- then it's over with and forget it. Be as lavish with affection after

a spanking as any other time -- or a bit extra.

--Lazurus Long, Time Enough For Love

* Please consider yourself, now and henceforth, and no matter what anyone else ever asks of you, free to do any damned thing you want that doesn't hurt someone else unnecessarily. --Lady Sally McGee

* I make no apology for hypocrisy. --Lazurus Long, Time Enough For Love

*Force is an argument to use when nothing else will do and the issue is that important.--Lazurus Long, Time Enough For Love,

*"I'm not `little Dora.' I'm Rangy Lil, the horniest girl south of Separation -- you said so yourself. I cuss and I swear and I spit between my teeth and I'm concubine to Lazurus Long, SuperStud of the Stars and better than any six men -- and you know damned well what I want, and if you pinch my nipples again, I'm likely to trip you and take it. But I guess we ought to water

the mules." --Dora Smith nee Brandon, Time Enough For Love

* Among such people the plural of "spouse" is "spice".

--Lazurus Long, Time Enough For Love

*Lazi, you've heard me say nine thousand and nineteen times that we do not carry weapons to give us Dutch courage. If a gun makes you feel three meters tall and invulnerable, you had

better go unarmed [...]"

--Lazurus Long, Time Enough For Love,

*"Sin?" "Sin" like "love" was a word hard to define. It came in two bitter but vastly different flavors. The first lay in violating the taboos of your tribe.

[...]

The other meaning of "sin" was easier to define because it was not moulded by the murky concepts of religion and taboo: Sin is behaviour that ignores the welfare of others.

--Time Enough For Love

prior mistakes future mistakes


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The past 12 months
18 months past
24 months past
36 months past
48 months past