Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

My Last Thesis Journal

Le Mage Journal

2002-09-11 - 12:33 p.m.

everyone's doing it.

Everyone is watching TV and listening to patriotic songs. To make them feel better. To make them feel good.

Patriotism doesn't feel good. Loylaty is the day in day out pain of knowing there is something greater then you that needs protection.Nothing useful has been done since W placated the American people. PLacation is trivia. We only get stuff done here when we're upset. And I don't mean illogical rage. I mean the sick awful pain. The pain that makes you cry when you hear the songs.

I am not so sure about America anymore. For a long time I hav felt alienated from general populus. I worry that my concerns needs and abilities are not only different from the country as a whole but also incompatible.

So while I feel greater depths of emotion for the founding precepts of the US and great sorrow for the deaths, loss and disasters, I cant say I feel patriotism. I admit, I dont feel that pain of loyalty that says I will follow my leader blindly. Maybe i was in the wrong history classes but I learned that when the leader is wrong it is in our power, and our duty to correct that situation. Deport me? I'll take america with me. I will take liberty, and justice for all, and sit on a hill and pity you. You who are about to get into another war, more killing, when you can't even actually ABIDE by the founding concepts of your civilisation. If you could feed every child in your nation, provide proper health care for all, and have complete freedom of expression then maybe I will come back.

Until then, I will hold your patriotism in exile,

-bsg-

prior mistakes future mistakes


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The past 12 months
18 months past
24 months past
36 months past
48 months past