Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

My Last Thesis Journal

Le Mage Journal

2002-11-08 - 11:27 a.m.

Reprint from Chronicle of The Horse


Dear Sir:

While I found Denny Emerson's column "horse Owners Deserve More Recognition" (July 12 p. 36) fascinating, I believe that he may be trying to frost the cake before it's out of the oven.

Wer'e experiencing a lot of problems in the hunter world right now. Bad judging, politics, drugging, corruption-you know, business as usual. But, for some annoying reason, people are talking about the stuff that no one is supposed to talk about until they're safely back in their motel rooms.

It's OK, because I'm a nobody. My opinion doesn't matter. I'm just a dumb Midwestern mother who's been involved with the horse idustry for more than 40 years. I'm at the bottom of the food chain, I'm an owner. The mark. That's the way you trainers think of us, isn't it?

I'm the tacky woman who works her butt off at a job I don't love in order to provide my daughter with something she does-herhorse. I'm one of the hundreds of women on whom you've built your business over the years,, and guess what? I'm unhappy, and I'm not the only one.

It's time that we as owners held tgrainers accountable. It's time to expect them to adhere to the commonly held business practices, to help them remember that we are the customersk, and while the customer isn't always right, we are still the customers.

Some helpful hints:

1) Don't sell me a lame horse that was drugged when I got it and suggest to me that vetting isn't really necessary because, "Well, I know the trainer at the barn he's come from, and after all, they all have a little somthing wrong with them."

2) Don't treat my child with disdain if she's not tall enough, thin enough, smart enough, or just plain doesn't ride that well. Maybe she's not the winner, but she helped pay for that BMW you are drivin.

3) When I return from my next horse show, I expect an itemized bill for the expenses which you're charging my. And don't charge me for seomthing called "special shampoo" or "special service" or any other "special" ridiculous charge that you need to cover your vacation to Hawaii next month.

4)Don't charge me a 15 percent commission on a horse that I found.

5) Don't suggest that in roder to sell my animal it must be sent to another barn, and when it returns lame dont smile and say, "Oh well, it's your horse, an dthat's the cost of doing business".

6) Don't find my daughter a horse she can't ride so you can charge me "training fees". I wouldn't buy her a car she can't drive, so why should you recommend a horse she can't ride?

7) Sel lmy horse for the exact amount I'm asking and provide me with the name of thit's future owner, so if I later find out that you sold my $30,000 pony for $40,000 and kept the difference, I can sue you.

8) Take care of my animal. Feed it, turn it out, and call the vet when necessary. Perferably a vet of my choice, since I pay the bill.

9) When I leave your barn for whatever reason, do not make it your mission in life to make our life miserable at the next horse show we both attend. This kind of juvenile behavior is unbeccoming of an adult. Maybe your time would be better spent reflecting on why you lost a good customer.

10) Realize that being a trainer/barn owner is difficult. It's a service position, and if you aren't prepared to off that service in an honest, ethical and good-spirited manner, remember that the carnival is always looking for a few good people.

Since so many trainers are so fond of calling themselves "professionals", I suggest they start conducting themselves in a manner that reflects that title. I would suggest to every owner that starting today, you hold your trainers and barn managers accountable for their businesses. Stop complainging behind their backs, stop paying outrageous bill that you think are unfair, protect your kids, and educate yourselves.

Insist that your relationship be built on mutual respect, and if it is not, leave. There are decent trainers out there-give your bisiness to them. In order to grow and get better as an industry, it takes a grassroots effort. It should start today with us, the owners, because without us, as Mr. Emerson noted, there would be no industry.

Lesley Kagen

prior mistakes future mistakes


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The past 12 months
18 months past
24 months past
36 months past
48 months past