Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

My Last Thesis Journal

Le Mage Journal

2004-01-13 - 8:24 p.m.

Maybe you heard about the Moveon.org's contest. Maybe you even saw the ad that won ( it rocks)

but did you know at the award gala they played my favorite song ever?

"Medical raps aside, there were far more lovely moments than awful ones on Monday, chief among them Rufus Wainwright's devastating cover of Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah." The heartbroken exaltation of the lyrics drew out all the melancholy beneath the evening's celebration -- after all, progressives might be full of hope and energy, but many of them are also scared and weary. "I did my best, it wasn't much/ I couldn't feel, so I tried to touch/ I've told the truth, I didn't come to fool you," Wainwright crooned over his piano. "And even though/ It all went wrong/ I'll stand before the lord of song/ With nothing on my tongue but hallelujah."

"

prior mistakes future mistakes


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The past 12 months
18 months past
24 months past
36 months past
48 months past