Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

My Last Thesis Journal

Le Mage Journal

2001-03-21 - 11:15 p.m.

I am so sorry in advance everyone- just kinda skim down and only read the lyrics if you dont know the song- i can read these lryics and hear every song but one in my mind- 60's music is just somehting i got young- so yeah. sorry. I mean i could have listed hundreds more, literally, but these are the ones rthat played loudest on my inner ear. :):P


Ben E. King

Stand By Me

When the night has come, and the land is dark;

And the moon is the only - light we�ll see.

No I won�t be afraid, oh I I I won�t be afraid,

Just as long as you stand, stand by me.

Refrain:

So darling, darling .. stand by me, ooh... stand by me.

Ooh stand, stand by me, stand by me.

If the sky, that we look upon, should trumble an fall,

Or the mountains, should crumble in the sea.

I won�t cry, I won�t cry, no I wa...ant, shed a tear,

Just as long, as you stand, stand by me.

And darling, darling .. stand by me, ooh... stand by me.

Oh stand, stand by me, stand by me.


he Mighty Quinn

Manfred Mann

(Words and music by Bob Dylan)

Come all without, come all within

You'll not see nothing like the Mighty Quinn

Come all without, come all within

You'll not see nothing like the Mighty Quinn

Everybody's building ships and boats

Some are building monuments, others are jotting down notes

Everybody's in despair, every girl and boy

But when Quinn the Eskimo gets here

Everybody's gonna jump for joy

Come all without, come all within

You'll not see nothing like the Mighty Quinn

I like to go just like the rest, I like my sugar sweet

But jumping queues and makin' haste, just ain't my cup of meat

Everyone's beneath the trees, feedin' pigeons on a limb

But when Quinn the Eskimo gets here

All the pigeons gonna run to him

Come all without, come all within

You'll not see nothing like the Mighty Quinn

Come all without, come all within

You'll not see nothing like the Mighty Quinn

Let me do what I wanna do, I can't decide 'em all

Just tell me where to put 'em and I'll tell you who to call

Nobody can get no sleep, there's someone on everyone's toes

But when Quinn the Eskimo gets here

Everybody's gonna wanna doze

Come all without, come all within

You'll not see nothing like the Mighty Quinn

Come all without, come all within

You'll not see nothing like the Mighty Quinn

Come all without, come all within

You'll not see nothing like the Mighty Quinn

Come all without, come all within

You'll not see nothing like the Mighty Quinn


Dream a Little Dream of Me

Mama Cass

(Words by Gus Kahn and Music by Wilbur Schwandt and Fabian Andree)

Stars shining bright above you

Night breezes seem to whisper "I love you"

Birds singing in the sycamore tree

Dream a little dream of me

Say "Night-ie night" and kiss me

Just hold me tight and tell me you'll miss me

While I'm alone and blue as can be

Dream a little dream of me

Stars fading but I linger on, dear

Still craving your kiss

I'm longing to linger till dawn, dear

Just saying this

Sweet dreams till sunbeams find you

Sweet dreams that leave all worries behind you

But in your dreams whatever they be

Dream a little dream of me


Both Sides Now

Judy Collins

(Clannad & Paul Young)

Bows and flows of angel hair and ice cream castles in the air

And feather canyons everywhere, I've looked at clouds that way

But now they only block the sun they rain and snow on everyone

So many things I would have done, but clouds got in my way

I've looked at clouds from both sides now

From up and down and still somehow

It's cloud's illusions I recall

I really don't know clouds at all

Moons and Junes and ferris wheels the dizzy dancing way you feel

As every fairy tale comes real, I've looked at love that way

But now it's just another show, you leave 'em laughin when you go

And if you care don't let them know, don't give yourself away

I've looked at love from both sides now

From give and take and still somehow

It's love's illusions I recall

I really don't know love at all

Tears and fears and feeling proud, to say, "I love you" right out loud

Dreams and schemes and circus crowds, I've looked at life that way

But now old friends are acting strange they shake their heads, they say

I've changed

But something's lost but something's gained in living every day

I've looked at life from both sides now

From win and lose and still somehow

It's life's illusions I recall

I really don't know life at all


Snoopy vs. The Red Baron

The Royal Guardsmen

After the turn of the century

In the clear blue skies over Germany

Came a roar and a thunder men had never heard

Like the scream and the sound of a big war bird

Up in the sky, a man in a plane

Baron von Richthofen was his name

Eighty men tried, and eighty men died

Now they're buried together on the countryside

Chorus: Ten, twenty, thirty, forty, fifty or more

The Bloody Red Baron was rollin' out the score

Eighty men died tryin' to end that spree

Of the Bloody Red Baron of Germany

In the nick of time, a hero arose

A funny-looking dog with a big black nose

He flew into the sky to seek revenge

But the Baron shot him down--"Curses, foiled again!"

CHORUS

Now, Snoopy had sworn that he'd get that man

So he asked the Great Pumpkin for a new battle plan

He challenged the German to a real dogfight

While the Baron was laughing, he got him in his sight

That Bloody Red Baron was in a fix

He'd tried everything, but he'd run out of tricks

Snoopy fired once, and he fired twice

And that Bloody Red Baron went spinning out of sight

CHORUS

FADE ON CHORUS SECOND TIME


White Rabbit

The Jefferson Airplane

One pill makes you larger, and one pill makes you small

And the ones that mother gives you, don't do anything at all

Go ask Alice, when she's ten feet tall

And if you go chasing rabbits, and you know you're going to fall

Tell 'em a hookah-smoking caterpillar has given you the call

And call Alice, when she was just small

When the men on the chessboard get up and tell you where to go

And you've just had some kind of mushroom, and your mind is moving low

Go ask Alice, I think she'll know

When logic and proportion have fallen sloppy dead

And the white knight is talking backwards

And the red queen's off with her head

Remember what the dormouse said

Feed your head, feed your head


Good Morning Starshine

Oliver

******

Good morning starshine

The earth says "Hello"

You twinkle above us

We twinkle below

Good morning starshine

You lead us along

My love and me as we sing

Our early morning singing song

Gliddy glup gloopy

Nibby nabby noopy la la la lo lo

Sabba Sibby sabba

Nooby abba nabba le le lo lo

Tooby ooby walla nooby abba nabba

Early morning singing song

Good morning starshine

You lead us along

My love and me as we sing

Our early morning singing song

Gliddy glup gloopy

Nibby nabby noopy la la la lo lo

Sabba Sibby sabba

Nooby abba nabba le le lo lo

Tooby ooby walla nooby abba nabba

Early morning singing song

Singing a song, humming a song

Singing a song, loving a song

Laughing a song

Sing the song, sing the song

Song the sing

Song, song, song, sing

Sing, sing, sing, song

*******


(for bryan)


The Ballad of The Green Berets

S/Sgt. Barry Sadler

(Words and Music by Ssgt. Barry Sadler and Robin Moore)

Fighting soldiers from the sky

Fearless men who jump and die

Men who mean just what they say

The brave men of the Green Beret

CHORUS:

Silver wings upon their chest

These are men, America�s best

One hundred men will test today

But only three win the Green Beret

Trained to live off nature�s land

Trained in combat, hand-to-hand

Men who fight by night and day

Courage peak from the Green Berets

CHORUS

Back at home a young wife waits

Her Green Beret has met his fate

He has died for those oppressed

Leaving her his last request

�Put silver wings on my son�s chest

Make him one of America�s best

He�ll be a man they�ll test one day

Have him win the Green Beret�


Paint It Black

The Rolling Stones

(Mick Jagger / Keith Richards)

I see a red door and I want it painted black

No colours anymore, I want them to turn back

I see the girls walk by dressed in their summer clothes

I have to turn my head until my darkness goes

I see a line of cars and they're all painted black

With flowers and my love, both never to come back

I see people turn their heads and quickly look away

Like a newborn baby it just happens ev'ryday

I look inside myself and see my heart is black

I see my red door and I must have it painted black

Maybe then I'll fade away and not have to face the facts

It's not easy facing up when your whole world is black

No more will my green sea go turn a deeper blue

I could not forsee this thing happening to you

If I look hard enough into the setting sun

My love will laugh with me before the morning comes

I see a red door and I want it painted black

No colours anymore I want them to turn back

I see the girls walk by dressed in their summer clothes

I have to turn my head until my darkness goes

I wanna see your face painted black, black as night, black as coal

Don't wanna see the sun, flying high in the sky

I wanna see it painted, painted, painted, painted black, yea


Lil' Red Riding Hood

Sam the Sam and The Pharaohs

Owoooooooo!

Who's that I see walkin' in these woods?

Why, it's Little Red Riding Hood.

Hey there Little Red Riding Hood,

You sure are looking good.

You're everything a big bad wolf could want.

Listen to me.

Little Red Riding Hood

I don't think little big girls should

Go walking in these spooky old woods alone.

Owoooooooo!

What big eyes you have,

The kind of eyes that drive wolves mad.

So just to see that you don't get chased

I think I ought to walk with you for a ways.

What full lips you have.

They're sure to lure someone bad.

So until you get to grandma's place

I think you ought to walk with me and be safe.

I'm gonna keep my sheep suit on

Until I'm sure that you've been shown

That I can be trusted walking with you alone.

Owoooooooo!

Little Red Riding Hood

I'd like to hold you if I could

But you might think I'm a big bad wolf so I won't.

Owoooooooo!

What a big heart I have-the better to love you with.

Little Red Riding Hood

Even bad wolves can be good.

I'll try to be satisfied just to walk close by your side.

Maybe you'll see things my way before we get to grandma's place.

Hey there Little Red Riding Hood

You sure are looking good

You're everything that a big bad wolf could want.

Owoooooooo! I mean baaaaaa! Baaa?


Sloop John B

The Beach Boys

(Words & Music: Trad. - Arr. Brian Wilson)

We come on the sloop John B

My grandfather and me

Around Nassau town we did roam

Drinking all night

Got into a fight

Well I feel so broke up

I want to go home

So hoist up the John B's sail

See how the mainsail sets

Call for the Captain ashore

Let me go home, let me go home

I wanna go home, yeah yeah

Well I feel so broke up

I wanna go home

The first mate he got drunk

And broke in the Cap'n's trunk

The constable had to come and take him away

Sheriff John Stone

Why don't you leave me alone, yeah yeah

Well I feel so broke up I wanna go home

So hoist up the John B's sail

See how the mainsail sets

Call for the Captain ashore

Let me go home, let me go home

I wanna go home, let me go home

Why don't you let me go home

(Hoist up the John B's sail)

Hoist up the John B

I feel so broke up I wanna go home

Let me go home

The poor cook he caught the fits

And threw away all my grits

And then he took and he ate up all of my corn

Let me go home

Why don't they let me go home

This is the worst trip I've ever been on

So hoist up the John B's sail

See how the mainsail sets

Call for the Captain ashore

Let me go home, let me go home

I wanna go home, let me go home

Why don't you let me go home


The Pied Piper

Crispian St. Peters

(Artie Kornfeld - Steve Duboff)

You

With your masquerading

And you

Always contemplating

What to do

In case heaven has found you

Can't you see

That it's all around you

So follow me

[1, 2: Hey] come on, babe

Follow me

I'm the Pied Piper

Follow me

I'm the Pied Piper

And I'll show you where it's at

Come on, babe

Can't you see

I'm the Pied Piper

Trust in me

I'm the Pied Piper

And I'll show you where it's at

Girl

Don't be scared to move

Hey, babe

What are you tryin' to prove

It ain't true

That your life has kicked you

It's your mind

And that's all that's trickin' you

So step in line

Come on, babe

Follow me

Come on, babe

Trust in me

Come on, babe

Can't you see

Come on, babe

Follow me

I'm the Pied Piper


Did You Ever Have To Make Up Your Mind

The Lovin' Spoonful

Did you ever have to make up your mind

Pick up on one and leave the other behind

It's not often easy and not often kind

Did you ever have to make up your mind

Did you ever have to finally decide

Say yes to one and let the other one ride

There's so many changes and tears you must hide

Did you ever have to finally decide

Sometimes there's one with big blue eyes, cute as a bunny

With hair down to here, and plenty of money

And just when you think she's that one in the world

You heart gets stolen by some mousey little girl

And then you know you'd better make up your mind...

Sometimes you really dig a girl the moment you kiss her

And then you get distracted by her older sister

When in walks her father and takes you a line

And says, "You better go home, son, and make up your mind"

And then you bet you'd better finally decide...


She's Just My Style

Gary Lewis and The Playboys

(Written by Gary Lewis, Leon Russell, Snuff Garrett, and Al Capps)

Ev'ry time I see her she don't even look my way

Maybe she will notice me but then what would I say?

I would say what's on my mind

But the words are hard to find

But I'm gonna try to tell her anyway

(Don'tcha know that she's) just my style?

(Ev'rything about her) drives me wild

(Don'tcha know that she's) just my style?

(Ev'rything about her) drives me wild

(Don'tcha know that she's) fine so fine?

Other guys who meet her may not think she's much to see

I can't begin to tell you what she always does to me

Maybe it's the clothes she wears

Or the way she combs her hair

Oh that makes me want to tell her that I care

(Don'tcha know that she's) just my style?

(Ev'rything about her) drives me wild

(Don'tcha know that she's) just my style?

Ev'rything about her) drives me wild

(Don'tcha know that she's) fine so fine?

--------- instrumental break -----------

Maybe it's the clothes she wears

Or the way she combs her hair

Oh that makes me want to tell her that I care

(Don'tcha know that she's) just my style?

(Ev'rything about her) drives me wild

(Don'tcha know that she's) just my style?

Ev'rything about her) drives me wild

(Don'tcha know that she's) fine so fine?

(Don'tcha know that she's) just my style?

(Ev'rything about her) drives me wild

(Don'tcha know that she's) just my style?

Ev'rything about her) drives me wild

FADE

(Don'tcha know that she's) fine so fine?


Get Off Of My Cloud

The Rolling Stones

(Mick Jagger / Keith Richards)

I live in an apartment on the ninety-ninth floor

of my block

And I sit at home looking out the window

Imagining the world has stopped

Then in flies a guy who's all dressed up

like a Union Jack

And says, I've won five pounds if I have his

kind of detergent pack

I says, Hey! You! Get off of my cloud

Hey! You! Get off of my cloud

Hey! You! Get off of my cloud

Don't hang around 'cause two's a crowd

On my cloud, baby

The telephone is ringing

I say, "Hi, it's me. Who is there on the line ?"

A voice says, "Hi, hello, how are you ?"

Well, I guess I'm doin' fine

He says, "It's three a.m., there's too much noise

Don't you people ever wanna go to bed ?

Just 'cause you feel so good, do you have

to drive me out of my head ?"

I says, Hey! You! Get off of my cloud

Hey! You! Get off of my cloud

Hey! You! Get off of my cloud

Don't hang around 'cause two's a crowd

On my cloud, baby

I was sick and tired, fed up with this

And decided to take a drive downtown

It was so very queit and peaceful

There was nobody, not a soul around

I laid myself out, I was so tired

And I started to dream

In the morning the parking tickets were just

like a flag stuck on my window screen

I says, Hey! You! Get off of my cloud

Hey! You! Get off of my cloud

Hey! You! Get off of my cloud

Don't hang around 'cause two's a crowd

"On my cloud, baby"

I says, Hey! You! Get off of my cloud

Hey! You! Get off of my cloud

Hey! You! Get off of my cloud

Don't hang around 'cause two's a crowd


I'm Henry The Eighth, I Am

Herman's Hermits

(Murray/Weston)

- written in 1911

- popularized in England by Harry Champion

I'm Henry the eighth I am

Henry the eighth I am, I am

I got married to the widow next door

She's been married seven times before

And every one was an Henry (Henry)

She wouldn't have a Willy or a Sam (no Sam)

I'm her eighth old man, I'm Henry

Henry the eighth I am

Second verse same as the first

I'm Henry the eighth I am

Henry the eighth I am, I am

I got married to the widow next door

She's been married seven times before

And every one was an Henry (Henry)

She wouldn't have a Willy or a Sam (no Sam)

I'm her eighth old man, I'm Henry

Henry the eighth I am

------ lead guitar ------

I'm Henry the eighth I am

Henry the eighth I am, I am

I got married to the widow next door

She's been married seven times before

And every one was an Henry (Henry)

She wouldn't have a Willy or a Sam (no Sam)

I'm her eighth old man, I'm Henry

Henry the eighth I am

H-E-N-R-Y

Henry (Henry)

Henry (Henry)

Henry the eighth I am, I am

Henry the eighth I am

Yeah!


Time Is On My Side

The Rolling Stones

Time is on my side, yes, it is.

Time is on my side, yes, it is.

Now you were saying that you want to be free

but you'll come runnin' back, you'll come runnin' back,

you'll come runnin' back to me.

Time is on my side, yes, it is.

Time is on my side, yes, it is.

You're searching for good times but just wait and see,

you'll come runnin' back, you'll come runnin back,

you'll come runnin' back to me.

Go ahead..go ahead and light up the town!

Baby, do everything your heart desires..

remember, I'll always be around.

And I know like I told you so many times before

you're gonna come back, baby..

you're gonna come back knockin' right on my door.

Time is on my side, yes, it is.

Time is on my side, yes, it is.

'Cause I got the real love, the kind that you need.

You'll come runnin' back, you'll come runnin' back,

you'll come runnin' back to me.

Time time time is on my side, yes, it is.

Time time time is on my side, yes, it is. (repeat & fade)


******

Ferry 'Cross The Mersey

Gerry and The Pacemakers

(Gerry Marsden)

Life goes on day after day

Hearts torn in every way

So ferry 'cross the Mersey

'cause this land's the place I love

and here I'll stay

People they rush everywhere

Each with their own secret care

So ferry 'cross the Mersey

and always take me there

The place I love

People around every corner

They seem to smile and say

We don't care what your name is boy

We'll never turn you away

So I'll continue to say

Here I always will stay

So ferry 'cross the Mersey

'cause this land's the place I love

and here I'll stay

and here I'll stay

Here I'll stay

*****


Glad All Over

The Dave Clark Five

(Dave Clark / Mike Smith)

You say that you love me (say you love me)

All of the time (all of the time)

You say that you need me (say you need me)

You'll always be mine (always be mine)

I'm feelin' glad all over

Yes I'm-a glad all over

Baby I'm glad all over

So glad you're mine

I'll make you happy (make you happy)

You'll never be blue (never be blue)

You'll have no sorrow (have no sorrow)

'Cause I'll always be true (always be true)

And I'm feelin' glad all over

Yes I'm-a glad all over

Baby I'm-a glad all over

So glad you're mine

Other girls may try to take me away (take me away)

But you know, it's by your side I will stay

I'll stay

Our love will last now (our love will last)

Till the end of time (end of time)

Because this love now (because this love)

Is gonna be yours and mine (yours and mine)

And I'm feelin' glad all over

Yes I'm-a glad all over

Baby I'm glad all over

So glad you're mine

Other girls may try to take me away (take me away)

But you know, it's by your side I will stay

I'll stay

All of our lives now (all of our lives)

Till the end of time (end of time)

Because this love now (because this love)

Is only yours and mine (yours and mine)

And I'm feelin' glad all over

Yes I'm-a glad all over

Baby I'm-a glad all over

So glad you're mine

I'm so glad you're mine now

I'm so, I'm so glad you're mine

I'm-a so glad you're mine now

Whoa-whoa-whoa-whoa-whoa-whoa


Sugar Shack

Jimmy Gilmer and The Fireballs

There�s a crazy little shack beyond the tracks

And ev�rybody calls it the sugar shack

Well, it�s just a coffeehouse and it�s made out of wood

Expresso coffee tastes mighty good

That�s not the reason why I�ve got to get back

To that sugar shack, whoa baby

To that sugar shack.

There�s this cute little girlie, she�s a�workin� there

A black leotard and her feet are bare

I�m gonna drink a lotta coffee, spend a little cash

Make that girl love me when I put on some trash

You can understand why I�ve got to get back

To that sugar shack, whoa baby

To that sugar shack, yeah honey

To that sugar shack, whoa yes

To that sugar shack.

Now that sugar shack queen is a�married to me, yeah yeah

We just sit around and dream of those old memories

Ah, but one of these days I�m gonna lay down tracks

In the direction of that sugar shack

Just me and her yes we�re gonna go back

To that sugar shack,

Whoa uh ohT

o that sugar shack, yeah honey

To our sugar shack

(Fade)

Yeh, yeh, yeh, our sugar shack


Then He Kissed Me

The Crystals

Well, he walked up to me and he asked me if I wanted to dance.

He looked kinda nice and so I said I might take a chance.

When he danced he held me tight

And when he walked me home that night

All the stars were shining bright

And then he kissed me.

Each time I saw him I couldn't wait to see him again.

I wanted to let him know that he was more than a friend.

I didn't know just what to do

So I whispered I love you

And he said that he loved me too

And then he kissed me.

He kissed me in a way that I've never been kissed before,

He kissed me in a way that I wanna be kissed forever more.

I knew that he was mine so I gave him all the love that I had

And one day he took me home to meet his mon and his dad.

Then he asked me to be his bride

And always be right by his side.

I felt so happy I almost cried

And then he kissed me.

Then he asked me to be his bride

And always be right by his side.

I felt so happy I almost cried

And then he kissed me.

And then he kissed me.

And then he kissed me


Swinging On A Star

Big Dee Irwin and Little Eva

(Words by Johnny Burke, music by Jimmy Van Huesen)

Would you like to swing on a star

Carry moonbeams home in a jar

And be better off than you are

Or would you rather be a mule

A mule is an animal with long funny ears

Kicks up at anything he hears

His back is brawny but his brain is weak

He's just plain stupid with a stubborn streak

And by the way, if you hate to go to school

You may grow up to be a mule

Or would you like to swing on a star

Carry moonbeams home in a jar

And be better off than you are

Or would you rather be a pig

A pig is an animal with dirt on his face

His shoes are a terrible disgrace

He has no manners when he eats his food

He's fat and lazy and extremely rude

But if you don't care a feather or a fig

You may grow up to be a pig

Or would you like to swing on a star

Carry moonbeams home in a jar

And be better off than you are

Or would you rather be a fish

A fish won't do anything, but swim in a brook

He can't write his name or read a book

To fool the people is his only thought

And though he's slippery, he still gets caught

But then if that sort of life is what you wish

You may grow up to be a fish

A new kind of jumped-up slippery fish

And all the monkeys aren't in the zoo

Every day you meet quite a few

So you see it's all up to you

You can be better than you are

You could be swingin' on a star


A Wonderful Dream

The Majors

(Last night I had a wonderful dream

I dreamed I held you in my arms

And you thrilled me with your charms

In a wonderful dream I had last night

Your lips were oh so soft and warm

And a wonderful love was born

We were all alone, you told me that you care

And I never will forget how happy was

That we were there

Last night I had a wonderful dream

And now that I'm alone with you

My wonderful dream will come true


Blue Moon

The Marcels

- words by Lorenz Hart, music by Richard Rodgers

Blue Moon, you saw me standing alone

Without a dream in my heart

Without a love of my own

Blue Moon, you knew just what I was there for

You heard me saying a prayer for

Someone I really could care for

And then there suddenly appeared before me

The only one my arms will ever hold

I heard somebody whisper, �Please adore me�

And when I looked, the moon had turned to gold

Blue Moon, now I�m no longer alone

Without a dream in my heart

Without a love of my own


A Hundred Pounds of Clay

Gene McDaniels

(Written by Bob Elgin, Luther Dixon, and Kay Roger)

He took a hundred pounds of clay

And they He said "Hey, listen"

"I'm gonna fix this-a world today"

"Because I know what's missin' "

Then He rolled his big sleeves up

And a brand-new world began

He created a woman and-a lots of lovin' for a man

Whoa-oh-oh, yes he did

With just a hundred pounds of clay

He made my life worth livin'

And I will thank Him every day

For every kiss you're givin'

And I'll thank Him every night

For the arms that are holdin' me tight

And He did it all with just a hundred pounds of clay

Yes he did, whoa-oh, yes He did

Now can'tcha just see Him a-walkin' 'round and 'round

Pickin' the clay uppa off the ground?

Doin' just what He should do

To make a livin' dream like you

He rolled His big sleeves up

And a brand-new world began

He created a woman and-a lots of lovin' for a man

Whoa-oh-oh, yes he did

With just a hundred pounds of clay

FADE

People, let me tall ya what He did

With just a hundred pounds of clay


Does Your Chewing Gum Lose Its' Flavour

Lonnie Donegan And His Skiffle Group

Oh me oh my oh you

Whatever shall I do?

Hallelujah, the question is peculiar

I'd give a lot of dough

If only I could know

The answer to my question

Is it yes or is it no?

CHORUS:

Does your chewing gum lose its flavour on the bedpost overnight?

If your mother says don't chew it, do you swallow it in spite?

Can you catch it on your tonsils, can you heave it left & right?

Does your chewing gum lose its flavour on the bedpost overnight?

Here comes a blushing bride

The groom is by her side

Up to the altar, just as steady as Gibraltar

The groom has got the ring

And it's such a pretty thing

But as he slips it on her finger

The choir begins to sing:

(chorus)

Now the nation rise as one

To send their wanted son

Up to the White House, yes, the nation's only White House

To voice their discontent

Unto the Pres-I-dent

They pawn the burning question, What has swept this continent?

(Lonnie speaks: If tin whistles are made of tin, what do they make phone cords out of?

Another man shouts: Boom boom!)

(chorus)

On the bedpost overnight

(Man: Hello there, I love you and the one who holds you tight!)

Lonnie: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Sat'day night!)

On the bedpost overnight

(Man: A dollar is a dollar and a dime is a dime!

Lonnie: He's singin' out the chorus but he hasn't got the time!)

On the bedpost overnight, yeah!


some of you may find that one familiar ;)


Spirit In The Sky

Norman Greenbaum

When I die and they lay me to rest

Gonna go to the place that's the best

When I lay me down to die

Goin' up to the spirit in the sky

Goin' up to the spirit in the sky

That's where I'm gonna go when I die

When I die and they lay me to rest

Gonna go to the place that's the best

Prepare yourself you know it's a must

Gotta have a friend in Jesus

So you know that when you die

He's gonna recommend you

To the spirit in the sky

Gonna recommend you

To the spirit in the sky

That's where you're gonna go when you die

When you die and they lay you to rest

You're gonna go to the place that's the best

Never been a sinner I never sinned

I got a friend in Jesus

So you know that when I die

He's gonna set me up with

The spirit in the sky

Oh set me up with the spirit in the sky

That's where I'm gonna go when I die

When I die and they lay me to rest

I'm gonna go to the place that's the best

Go to the place that's the best


Mama Told Me (Not To Come)

Three Dog Night

(Words and music by Randy Newman)

Want some whiskey in your water?

Sugar in your tea?

What's all these crazy questions they're askin' me?

This is the craziest party that could ever be

Don't turn on the lights 'cause I don't wanna see

Mama told me not to come

Mama told me not to come

"That ain't the way to have fun, no"

Open up the window, let some air into this room

I think I'm almost chokin' from the smell of stale perfume

And that cigarette you're smokin' 'bout scare me half to death

Open up the window, sucker, let me catch my breath

Mama told me not to come

Mama told me not to come

"That ain't the way to have fun, son"

"That ain't the way to have fun, son"

The radio is blastin', someone's knockin' at the door

I'm lookin' at my girlfriend - she's passed out on the floor

I seen so many things I ain't never seen before

Don't know what it is - I don't wanna see no more

Mama told me not to come

Mama told me not to come

She said, "That ain't the way to have fun, son"

"That ain't the way to have fun, no"


Hitchin' A Ride

Vanity Fair

(Written by Peter Callender and Mitch Murray)

A thumb goes up, a car goes by

It's nearly 1 a.m. and here am I

Hitchin' a ride, hitchin' a ride

Gotta get me home by the morning light

I got no fare to ride a train

I'm nearly drowin' in the pouring rain

Hitchin' a ride, hitchin' a ride

Gotta get me home to my baby's side

Ride, ride, ride, hitchin' a ride

Ride, ride, ride, hitchin' a ride

Long distance call I got today

She sounded lonely so I'm on my way

Hitchin' a ride, hitchin' a ride

Gotta get me home, keep her satisfied

instrumental break

Ride, ride, ride, hitchin' a ride

Ride, ride, ride, hitchin' a ride

A thumb goes up, a car goes by

Oh, won't somebody stop and help a guy?

Hitchin' a ride, hitchin' a ride

Been away too long from my baby's side

Ride, ride, ride, hitchin' a ride


Joy to the World

Three Dog Night

(Written by Hoyt Axton)

Jeremiah was a bullfrog

Was a good friend of mine

I never understood a single word he said

But I helped him a-drink his wine

And he always had some mighty fine wine

Singin�...

Joy to the world

All the boys and girls now

Joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea

Joy to you and me

If I were the king of the world

Tell you what I�d do

I�d throw away the cars and the bars and the war

Make sweet love to you

Sing it now...

Joy to the world

All the boys and girls

Joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea

Joy to you and me

------ electric piano ------

You know I love the ladies

Love to have my fun

I�m a high life flyer and a rainbow rider

A straight shootin� son-of-a-gun

I said a straight shootin� son-of-a-gun

Joy to the world

All the boys and girls

Joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea

Joy to you and me


I Feel The Earth Move

Carole King

(Written by: Carole King)

I feel the earth move under my feet

I feel the sky tumbling down, tumbling down

I feel my heart start to trembling

Whenever you're around

Ooh, baby, when I see your face

Mellow as the month of May

Oh, darling, I can't stand it

When you look at me that way

I feel the earth move under my feet

I feel the sky tumbling down, tumbling down

I feel my heart start to trembling

Whenever you're around

Oh, darling, when you're near me

And you tenderly call my name

I know that my emotions

Are something I just can't tame

I've just got to have you, baby

I feel the earth move under my feet

I feel the sky tumbling down, tumbling down

I feel the earth move under my feet

I feel the sky tumbling down

I just lose control

Down to my very soul

I get a hot and cold all over

I feel the earth move under my feet

I feel the sky tumbling down,

Tumbling down, tumbling down...


Lean On Me

Bill Withers

Sometimes in our lives

We all have pain

We all have sorrow

But if we are wise

We know that there's

Always tomorrow

Lean on me

When you're not strong

I'll be your friend

I'll help you carry on

For.....it won't be long

Till I'm gonna need

Somebody to lean on

Please......swallow your pride

If I have things

You need to borrow

For no one can fill

Those of your needs

That you won't let show

You just call on me brother

When you need a hand

We all need somebody

To lean on

I just might have a problem

That you'll understand

We all need somebody to lean on

Lean on me

When you're not strong

I'll be your friend

I'll help you carry on

For.....it won't be long

Till I'm gonna need

Somebody to lean on

You just call on me brother

When you need a hand

We all need somebody to lean on

I just might have a problem

That you'd understand

We all need somebody to lean on

If there is a load

You have to bare

That you can't carry

I'm right up the road

I'll share your load

If you just call me

Call Me

If you need a friend

Call Me

If you need a friend


Horse With No Name

America

(Written by Dewey Bunnell)

On the first part of the journey

I was looking at all the life

There were plants and birds and rocks and things

There was sand and hills and rings

The first thing I met was a fly with a buzz

And the sky with no clouds

The heat was hot and the ground was dry

But the air was full of sound

I�ve been through the desert on a horse with no name

It felt good to be out of the rain

In the desert you can remember your name

�Cause there ain�t no one for to give you no pain

La, la ...

After two days in the desert sun

My skin began to turn red

After three days in the desert fun

I was looking at a river bed

And the story it told of a river that flowed

Made me sad to think it was dead

You see I�ve been through the desert on a horse with no name

It felt good to be out of the rain

In the desert you can remember your name

�Cause there ain�t no one for to give you no pain

La, la ...

After nine days I let the horse run free

�Cause the desert had turned to sea

There were plants and birds and rocks and things

there was sand and hills and rings

The ocean is a desert with it�s life underground

And a perfect disguise above

Under the cities lies a heart made of ground

But the humans will give no love

You see I�ve been through the desert on a horse with no name

It felt good to be out of the rain

In the desert you can remember your name

�Cause there ain�t no one for to give you no pain

La, la ...


If You Don't Know Me By Now

Harold Melvin and The Blue Notes

If you don't know me by now

You will never never never know me

All the things that we've been through

You should understand me like I understand you

Now girl I know the difference between right and wrong

I ain't gonna do nothing to break up our happy home

Oh don't get so excited when I come home a little late at night

Cause we only act like children when we argue fuss and fight

If you don't know me by now (If you don't know me)

You will never never never know me (No you won't)

If you don't know me by now

You will never never never know me

We've all got our own funny moods

I've got mine, woman you've got yours too

Just trust in me like I trust in you

As long as we've been together it should be so easy to do

Just get yourself together or we might as well say goodbye

What good is a love affair when you can't see eye to eye, oh

If you don't know me by now (If you don't know me)

You will never never never know me (No you won't)

If you don't know me by now (You will never never never know me)

You will never never never know me (ooh)


You Don't Mess Around With Jim

Jim Croce

Uptown's got its hustlers

The Bowry's got its bums

Forty-second street's got Big Jim Walker

He's a pool-shootin' son of a gun

Well he's big and dumb as a man can come

But he's stronger than a country hoss

And when the bad folks all get together at night

You know they all call Big Jim "boss"

(Just because ...)

(They say ...)

CHORUS:

You don't tug on Superman's cape

You don't spit into the wind

You don't pull the mask of the old Lone Ranger

And you don't mess around with Jim

(Ba-doo-da-doo-doo doo-doo-doo-doo doot)

Well out of South Alabama come a country boy

He said I'm lookin' for a man named Jim

I am a pool-shootin' boy, my name is Willie McCoy

But back home they call me Slim

He said I'm lookin' for the king of forty-second street

He's drivin' a drop-top Cadillac

And last week he took all my money, and it may sound funny

But I come to get my money back

(And everybody say, Jack -- don't you know that...)

CHORUS:

You don't tug on Superman's cape

You don't spit into the wind

You don't pull the mask of the old Lone Ranger

And you don't mess around with Jim

(Ba-doo-da-doo-doo doo-doo-doo-doo doot)

Well a hush fell over the pool room

When Jimmy come boppin' in off the street

And when the cuttin' was done, the only part that wasn't bloody

Was the soles of the big man's feet

He was cut in 'bout a hundred places

And he was shot in a couple more

And you better believe they sung a different kind of story

When Big Jim hit the floor

(And now they say)

You don't tug on Superman's cape

You don't spit into the wind

You don't pull the mask of the old Lone Ranger

And you don't mess around with Slim


-bsg-

prior mistakes future mistakes


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The past 12 months
18 months past
24 months past
36 months past
48 months past