Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

My Last Thesis Journal

Le Mage Journal

2003-02-13 - 10:15 p.m.

Oy.

I was supposed to go see Equus tonight for my Theater Appreciation course. You know that play, where the deranged kid BLINDS six horses?

Then I get a phone call that Harvey (my horse) has huge puncture wound 1/2 an inch below his eye and blood is contiuously dripping out his nose.

Get in the car, we're going to trailer him a half hour to the vet's clinic. ( Obviously not gonna make it to the play tonight, maybe tomorow. Woo. hoo.)

At the barn- they are already hitched up- trying to get Perilous the pony ( Harvey again) into the trailer. Finally he goes in.... on the right. FINE! Good enough! AT this point blood is STILL dripping out his nose, but he doesn't seem too upset. My trainer even got shipping wraps on him already.

% minutes out my friends brother ( her dad was trailering) looks out his mirror and says "There are sparks coming from the wheel- I think we have a flat!"

Thats a Yep. Flat tire. SO we pull into a quick mart type store and they go to change to the spare. I go in to buy them coffee. Meanwhile Sir Tosses His head A Lot does as his name would imply, spraying blood EVERYWHERE. I had spatters on my glasses when I went in for coffee. EWw.

I sent my trainer in to buy a box of sugar cubes to keep him occupied while they finished changing the tire. It may not be below zero here but these guys weren't dressed to be hudled outside at night fixing a flat on a rocking trailer with a bleeding TB inside it.

On the road again. Thankfully uneventful. We pull into the vet's clinic. She is busy putting down an animal ( she also does small animals) and will be with us ASAP. We are directed down to the barn to unload him.

Harvey D'Bloody is still just that. My poor trainers coat is stained and ugly now. Vet pops in, pops a tranq in his vein and says she'll get her equipment.

As his head drops to his ankles and he starts drooling ( good stuff!) I finally get a good look at the wound, in good light, indoors.

Ugly. Right into the sinus cavity. The wound itself doesn't look bloody but there is still a few drops of blood and its been an hour+ since the wound was discovered.

We call back to the barn where the kids are frantically searching his stall for what could have done it. He was 100% ok when he was walked inside at 4:30. At 5ish when he was fed he was like this. They FINALLY see that the wire mesh covering his stall light has come slightly loose in one corner.

*SHIVERS*

Half an inch higher would have been his eye. The kids fix it up for tonight ( duct tape etc). My trainer and I personally inspected this whole place top to bottom and every light before we moved in 3 weeks ago. Freak accident? We'll be putting up new covers tomorow.

Now the vet is back with a tetanus booster, IV antibiotic, and a ....stapler?!

Yep. She cleaned the wound, put some novicaine in and stapled the wound shut. Frankenstein-Horse!! Egad!

She sent me home with SMZ's ( 15 a day for a week) and said that neosporin on the wound will keep it from scarring. and gave me a big discount. Maybe I impressed her drunken staggering Sir Harvey-Stein stepped on my foot and all I did was push him off quietly, without yelling.

That was my night. Tomorow I get to see Equus. What a flippin' V-day present!

However, my mom was kind enough to give me a check for the vet bill since I have Zero Monies- I will pay her back soon. Also by dropping off happy dunkin donuts coffee at her work tomorow.

-bsg-

prior mistakes future mistakes


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The past 12 months
18 months past
24 months past
36 months past
48 months past