Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

My Last Thesis Journal

Le Mage Journal

2003-02-13 - 11:41 a.m.

Mourning Update..

IP: 209.217.195.157

Posted on 2/13/2003 at 07:41:05 AM by John and Julie

It's been a tough few weeks on both John and I, with very little sleep. First Rainy going septic and then Dawn's incredibly difficult birth. Dawn's huge red snowcap foal did not make it. The long and laborious birth process weakened him to the point there was just nothing we could do. He just didn't have the strength to nurse or stand despite all our continued efforts to save him. Dawn is doing fine. Rainy also died this morning. This one is harder on me as Kirsten and I had worked so diligently with her. At least every two hours we attended to her and everything that could be done was. A shock as she seemed to start nursing just fine and appeared to be coming out of it. I suspect something internal that we just couldn't fight. You know, when you are in this business and have loved it as long as we have, you realize you can only do the best you can do and give it your best shot. What is meant to be is meant to be. Kirsten is doing an autopsy to see if there is anything we missed "just in case" but the fact remains we have two less foals in our crop this year and they will be missed. What we are blessed with is the miracles of the ones we have left. Bobbi, Tinker and Oreo's foals are strong and healthy and we will take our joy in them. My message to you, let's not linger on this subject. I don't need a lot of sympathetic posts..I know how you all feel and I think you all know how I feel. Let's rejoice in the ones that were successful and move on. It's a tough year and maybe it's the toughness that makes us appreciate every little success we have, the very joy of the miracle of birth and makes us appreciate all that goes into to making that miracle all the more.


I was out at a meeting last night and mised Dawn's foaling, but as soon as I was out I called my boyfriend to check the message board for foals. Two colts! I couldn't believe it! I was so excited to see Dawn's colt- cherry red I heard over the phone. I wanted to hear how Rainy was too- I had hoped you had found an appropriate name for her. I am so sorry for your losses. If I can ever do anything to be of help, whether its just sending you an atkins friendly dessert recipe or anyhting please let me know. I t it terrible to imagine the full and happy lives and love the foals will never get to experience- however, we all are sending them a lifetimes worth of love now as they have just passed. I'm not a very religous person but I firmly believe in the souls of animals, loved or unrecognized.

So I am sending my love to you two, please pass it on to the rest of this seasons foals and all your "family".

-bsg-


Dawn's Colt

Dawn's Cherry Red Son


Rainy

Rainy also


-bsg-

prior mistakes future mistakes


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The past 12 months
18 months past
24 months past
36 months past
48 months past