Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

My Last Thesis Journal

Le Mage Journal

2001-10-16 - 7:28 p.m.

IN AMERICA?

today, a tragedy occurred. i'd like to appropriate george bush's

rhetoric

(i am still STAUNCHLY anti-dubya, but it fits my cause) and declare

this

an attack on freedom.

today, an act of war :) was committed against the liberal college

community (go feminist appropriation). our progressive magazine was

"relocated" (as the dean in charge of the relocating put it) - not to

be

confused with "censored" - from the definite, determined location

outside

of mabel's to the information desk. dean briddell found the cover to

be

offensive and inappropriate. she claimed that we should be mindful of

the

children who enter the college center every day.

her reasons are as follows:

***these are not direct quotes; i paraphrased her words***

1. she was alerted by several alum said that our use of vaginas in the

last issue and the breasts in this current issue are indicative of our

complicity with a regime of terrorism being waged against the women of

aghanistan. by putting breasts and vaginas in the issue, in other

words,

we are showing we are complacent with their vulgarization and that we

do

not care enough about the women of afghanistan to report on their

oppression, and that we are apathetic and indifferent to their

cause. (BULLSHIT)

2. alum claim that our publication indicates our apathy

and indifference toward the current state of affairs of the united

states. in light of the recent tragedies in washington and new york

city,

we should not be publishing any content that is

controversial. (ahem.. ahem... CENSORSHIP)

3. briddell claims that we are antagonistic toward children in the

community by publishing such a subversive and inappropriate cover and

content because we are causing them to question sexuality and sexual

deviancy and sexual exploitation. they should not be exposed to this

sort

of material at such a precious age. (i believe they should be aware of

the

fact that this is indeed a LIBERAL college community with a LIBERAL

mindset and LIBERAL students and that if they are not comfortable in

this

LIBERAL atmosphere, they should not willingly ensconse themselves

within

it)

4. she related this vulgar cover to the recent chalkings which are

highly

offensive and derogatory.

This afternoon two campus mediums - The Medium and The Caellian - were

violated and censored by the Douglass College Center and the Cook

Campus

Center. The newspapers/magazines were taken from their originally

designated locations and moved BEHIND the desk of the Information Desk

in

the Douglass College Center and moved within the Cook Campus Center as

a

result of blatant and explicit censorship.

The reasons: the covers were "explicit" and "offensive" to communtiy

members and alumni.

So we are taking action.

Thursday afternoon at 430pm outside of the Douglass College Center,

on the George Street side, students will be gathered in order to

protest

this censorship. Our student voice publications will not be silenced

and

maltreated by conservatives who disapprove of our subject matter.

Thursday. 430pm. Douglass College Center on the George Street

side. Bring signs. if you have a bullhorn, bring that too.

Defend your voice

-bsg-For Crying Out Loud--Meatloaf I was lost 'til you were found But I never knew how far down I was fallin' before I reached the bottom I was cold and you were fire And I never knew how the pyre could be burning on the edge Of the ice field A: And the now chilly California wind Is blowing down our bodies again And we're sinking deeper and deeper into the Chilly California sand Oh I know you belong inside my aching heart And can't you see my faded Levis bursting apart And don't you hear me crying oh babe don't go And don't you hear me screamin' how was I to know I'm in the middle of nowhere Near the end of the line But there's a border to somewhere waiting And there's a tankful of time Oh give me just another moment To see the light of the day And take me to another land where I won't have to stay And I'm gonna need somebosy to make me feel like you do And I will receive somebosy with open arms open eyes Open up the sky and let the planet that I love shine through For crying out loud you know I love you (3X) I was damned and you were saved And I never knew how enslaved I was kneeling In the chains of my master I could laugh ah but you could cry And I never knew just how high I was flying With you right above me :|| A For taking in the rain when I'm feelin' so dry For giving me the answers when I'm asking you why My oh my for that I thank you For takin' in the sun when I'm feelin' so cold For givin' me a child when my body is old Don't you know for that I need you For comin' to my room when you know I'm alone For findin' me a highway and drivin' me home You gotta know for that I serve you For pullin' me away when I'm startin' to fall For revvin' me up when I'm startin' to stall And all in all for that I want you For taking and for giving and for playing the game For praying for my future in the days that remain Oh lord for that I hold you Ah but most of all For cryin' out loud For that I love you (repeat 3X) When you're crying out loud You know I love you

prior mistakes future mistakes


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

The past 12 months
18 months past
24 months past
36 months past
48 months past